Formulas of Catholic Doctrine PDF Print E-mail

The Ten Commandments 

1.    I am the Lord your God: you shall not have strange gods before me.
2.    You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
3.    Remember to keep holy the Lord’s day.
4.    Honour your father and your mother.
5.    You shall not kill.
6.    You shall not commit adultery.
7.    You shall not steal.
8.    You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.
9.    You shall not covet your neighbour’s wife.
10.    You shall not covet your neighbour’s goods.

The two commandments of love

1.    You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.
2.    You shall love your neighbour as yourself.

The Golden Rule (Mt 7:12)
  • Do to others as you would have them do to you.

The Beatitudes (Mt 5:3-12)
  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  • Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted.
  • Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
  • Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied.
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
  • Blessed are the pure of heart, for they will see God.
  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
  • Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  • Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven.

The three theological virtues

1.    Faith
2.    Hope
3.    Charity

The four cardinal virtues

1.    Prudence
2.    Justice
3.    Fortitude
4.    Temperance

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit

1.    Wisdom
2.    Understanding
3.    Counsel
4.    Fortitude
5.    Knowledge
6.    Piety
7.    Fear of the Lord

The twelve fruits of the Holy Spirit

1.    Charity
2.    Joy
3.    Peace
4.    Patience
5.    Kindness
6.    Goodness
7.    Generosity
8.    Gentleness
9.    Faithfulness
10.    Modesty
11.    Self-control
12.    Chastity

The five precepts of the Church

1.    You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and remain free from work or activity that could impede the sanctification of such days.
2.    You shall confess your sins at least once a year.
3.    You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season.
4.    You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.
5.    You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.

The seven corporal works of mercy

1.    Feed the hungry.
2.    Give drink to the thirsty.
3.    Clothe the naked.
4.    Shelter the homeless.
5.    Visit the sick.
6.    Visit the imprisoned.
7.    Bury the dead.

The seven spiritual works of mercy

1.    Counsel the doubtful.
2.    Instruct the ignorant.
3.    Admonish sinners.
4.    Comfort the afflicted.
5.    Forgive offences.
6.    Bear wrongs patiently.
7.    Pray for the living and the dead.

The seven capital sins

1.    Pride
2.    Covetousness
3.    Lust
4.    Anger
5.    Gluttony
6.    Envy
7.    Sloth

The four last things

1.    Death
2.    Judgment
3.    Hell
4.    Heaven